top of page

How I edit my Instagram


Good Morning Readers,

It has been a hot minute and even though there is no excuse for my absence I had not only been crazy busy with work and creating content for brands, but I’ve also been pretty uninspired and just couldn’t shift it. Am I the only one who’s been feeling like that lately?!

But my writing flare is back, juicier than ever and I promise to be much more active over here.

The inspiration behind this little blog post was that I have recently changed up my photo editing routine to make it much easier for myself without jeopardising the quality of my content. This change hasn’t gone unnoticed as I have been getting endless messages from some wonderful followers asking how I edit them… so I thought what better way to share it than to have it on my blog for all to see.

So here it goes… ALL of my dirty secrets ;)

  • Once I take the photo I go straight to VSCO Cam and use the filter M5 or G3 depending on how bright the photo is, and bring the filter down to about 60%.

  • Once I’m happy with the filter I play around with brightness and contrast affects, usually increasing both by about 5%.

  • I then upload the picture to AfterLight, the dusty affect giving application and use filter number 11. I love the vintage vibes it gives to a simple photo!

  • Once that’s ready I save it and upload it to UMUN. This is my new favourite app to play around with, as I’m sure most of you know by now how much I annoyingly obsess over my theme, this app lets you play around with the layout of your pictures as well as caption, schedule and directly post them.

So there you have it - no magic formula, no witch craft, nothing complicated, just simple!

I will say on a final note that what I love the most about Instagram is that the platform allows creators to explore, develop and show off their own unique style, so never feel the need to replicate somebody else’s. I’m totally guilty of it myself - wanting to have the same theme or filters as another, but it’s always good to remind yourself that you should do you, because nobody else can J

Until next time,

Em. x


RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page